I hate paying for overpriced oil changes and hard to find parts, and while I can appreciate craftsmanship, I have to say that I’m not really sorry that I don’t own a Ferrari. One of the biggest reasons I’m glad to not have one is the fact that many of Virginia’s wineries are reached via gravel roads, which are probably not ideal for low-slung vehicles with way too much power going to the rear wheels. This occurred to me as we powered up the hill to Mountfair Vineyards in the Winery Assault Vehicle, which is decidedly not a Ferrari. It’s also not a DeLorean, which kind of sucks.

We’ve tasted here numerous times before, so we were familiar with the great little post and beam tasting room as well as many of the wines. Every vintage is different, of course, so we came back for another taste. The tasting now kicks off with two Thibaut-Janisson wines. The first was the Blanc de Blanc ($30), a dry sparkling wine with yeast and apple and winning in it. This was followed by the Virginia Fizz ($25), a sparkling with a little sweetness that still has great acid backbone and gobs of flavor.

The Mountfair wines started with the 2009 Merlot ($25). I got light berry fruit, and found it to be a solid, drinkable red. The ’09 Belated ($30) was next, a blend of Merlot, Cabernet Franc, and Petit Verdot. It had a big rich nose but was lighter than expected on the palate. We ended with the 2010 Inaugural ($30). Sorry, I didn’t catch the blend. There was a nice fruit character to the wine but the acid was a little off for me on the finish. I’d have to say that this time around, I preferred the Merlot to the two blends.

Oh, and you all should be proud of me. We noticed the pool table in the barrel room, and not once did I make a crack about getting felt in the barrel room. So, score one for me!