Over the past 18 months or so, we’ve really jumped on the rosé bandwagon.  After all, rosés are crisp, refreshing, can offer some good fruit flavors, and are very food friendly.  As a drinker with a decided preference for red wines, however, sometimes a rosé just doesn’t do it for me.  At times like that, we typically look towards our small store of chillable reds.  The ’09 Rosa Luna from Fabbioli Cellars is technically a rosé wine, but the juice (sangiovese, if my memory serves me) saw extended skin contact, so I think it drinks more like a light-bodied chillable red.  This made it a perfect wine for one of our “it’s still hot, but I want a red wine” nights.

This wine offered a ton of fruit.  There was strawberry and watermelon on the nose.  On the palate, I note strawberries, raspberries, and a hint of watermelon.  As the wine warmed, a sweet/tart candy watermelon flavor (without the sugar) become more dominant.  All the fruit was fun, and the wine felt a bit more substantial than the typical fruit-forward rosé.

I’m going to have to make sure I find some red/rosé wines made in this style for next summer for when I get these red wine cravings but it’s way to hot to allow me to enjoy an actual full-bodied red.  What VA wines (or non-VA wines) would you put into this category?