So by now, you may have made the trek out to 8 Chains North, the winery that is 8 chains north of whatever is 8 chains south of where they are. Or something. As we all know, wines don’t make themselves, they’re made by winemakers (because oompa-loompas make candy, not wine. But even they would be horrified by Choco-vin). Who makes wine for 8 Chains North? Ben Renshaw, who graciously agreed to answer our deeply probing and profound queries!

Where did you grow up?
Air Force brat, born in Nebraska, lived in Alabama, both Dakotas, Germany, England & stationed in Va 3 times.

How long have you lived in VA?
I consider myself a Virginian, have been here permanently since 1983.

What brought you to wine?
Bartended my way through college at VCU in Richmond.  Had a GREAT distributor who would make staff come in an hour early every month and he would bring 3-4 wines, paired with something on our menu…this is where I was introduced to my favorites (still) Kissler Chard, Pride Mountain Cab, Merlot, Cab Franc, Ridge Zin, Duckhorn Merlot, etc.

Where else (besides your current winery) have you made wine?
I was the winemaker at Sunset Hills for 3 years.  Am currently making for Otium Cellars (they are not open yet and I am making and selling their wines through 8 Chains North) and another that is not yet open, but will be later this year Creek’s Edge Winery

What characteristics do you enjoy in wine?
I like big, deep and rich.  For fruit that we can grow in Virginia I love Tarara’s Syrah, Glenn Manor’s Sauvignon Blanc, Northgate’s Petit Verdot.  These wines accentuate the most positive aspects that we can produce in Virginia.  I wish we could grow Zinfandel and Petit Syrah here.

If you could have a private tour of any winery in the world, which would you choose?
I wish my palate and knowledge was greater than it is, but my favorite winery Pride Mountain in Napa/Sonoma…I’ve been there for a tasting, but not a private one.  Can you imagine getting into some of those barrels???!!!!!!

What is your favorite food and wine pairing?
I drink more red than white, so I really like a good Malbec with grilled Portabello Mushrooms.  However, I have to admit that there is something magical about a good, acidic Sauvignon Blanc (Stolpman or Glen Manor) with shellfish like crab or little neck clams on a hot summer night!

What are your favorite wine varietals?
Over the years I have bounced around…Pinot Noir, Zinfandel were big for me a few years ago, but I am currently really into Malbec and Syrah.  However, if I had to pick one it would be Cabernet Sauvignon…the king of wines and the wine of kings!

A lot of wine folks are excited for the 2010 wines. Which of your wines are you the most excited about?
The Malbec and Petit Verdot will knock your dick in the dirt!  I’m going to do varietals out of both of them.

Who is your favorite cartoon character?
Well I’m sure you were expecting Bart Simpson, or Stewie, but I’m gonna go ooooold school on you and say Underdog!

What is one thing we haven’t asked that you want Virginia wine lovers to know about you or your winery?
I am at the core a vineyard guy, managing about 75 acres in Loudoun. To that end I am very hands off and old world style in the cellar. My wines are a true reflection of what the vintage was…this is great in years like 2007 and 2010, and more challenging in years like 2008 & 2009.  Rich Evans from Flying Fox outside Charlottesville gave me a bottle of his Merlot a couple years ago and said something to the effect of “this is a bottle of what our vineyard produced last year”…real simple, but very telling of his style and approach.  I  work very hard in the vineyards and think this makes the critical difference in the cellar in both good years and not so good years.

Have you made a wine since you’ve been in VA that you think speaks to who you are as a winemaker? If so, what is it and why that one?
Like I said earlier, I am a vineyard guy and fairly “hands off” in the cellar (I dont like to fine or filter my reds, or make additions that are not absolutely necessary). So I would have to say the 2008 Furnace Mountain Red.  Its a Bordeaux style blend of all 5 reds from Bordeaux.  By taking the natural: structural characteristics from the Cab Sauv, the fruit characteristics from Malbec, Cab Franc and Petit Verdot and gripping tannins and acids from the Merlot, the blend of the grapes accentuates the natural strengths from each varietal…which are all generated in the vineyard.